DNF: Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

As an S on the DISC personality scale I am consistently determined to finish whatever I start. It is rare for me not to finish reading a book even if it takes me a while so this is the first ‘did not finish’ blog for me.

How did I come to the decision not to finish a book and just send it back to the library after 6 weeks? I have to contribute my growth in being okay with letting it go completely to another book I read this year, Necessary Endings, which brought understanding in allowing natural endings to occur. The only pressure to finish a book I wasn’t loving or learning from was coming from myself so why should I keep going? No one will actually be disappointed in me and I always have the chance to pick it up later if I prefer.

Also characteristic of an S personality is the fact that this book has been filed away in my mind for over a decade when Mr. Ross mentioned it in Worldviews class back in Junior year at Dominion 2008-2009. He said it was one of the best books he ever read and would always recommend it. I made a serious mental note and have looked for it occasionally in the years since then, finding it in the library in 2022. Apparently this is my time to read it!

This novel can be labeled a memoir (I’m not reaching just because I’m learning all about memoir at Flourish Writers currently- I promise!) as Robert Pirsig recounts his travels by motorcycle in relation to philosophy. It is as interesting as it sounds. He describes the ideal method of travel by motorcycle because you are in the elements the entire time of the journey and the group he is riding with is also camping at night instead of staying in hotels aiding their connection to nature. He explains so many details of motorcycle maintenance (big surprise, I know) and comparing them to his riding companions’ lack of knowledge and interest in properly maintaining their bike.

There were certainly moments of movement where I progressed along with Pirsig and company in the journey, but there were more moments of picking up a different book instead. I actually starting reading two other books while reading this book because I was not enthralled and hoped that having other options would help me get back into this one sometimes, but that did not work out. When I told J that I never finished this book he said it was okay because I was reading other books at the same time and can just return this one without worrying about it. That trick worked!

So I did surrender to the inevitable DNF list every reader has and would say it would be a good read for those interested in motorcycles or studying philosophy. Other than that it can be as hit and miss for readers as it was for me. I would not say it is a bad book at all because it is written well and stays on brand, but 464 pages was too much for this reader. Comment if you have read it because I would love to hear your perspective!

3 thoughts on “DNF: Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance

  1. I’ve listened to it on audio, then read it. It spoke to me. I was primed for the Chautauqua he delivers in the book. It deals with philosophical themes I’m interestef in. Like the split between classical and romantic modes of thinking and feeling.

Leave a comment